By William for

The type of season the McPherson High boys soccer team had in 2019 was evident when they named the AVCTL (Ark Valley Chisholm Trail League) Division III-IV All-League team as 11 Bullpups were named either first team, second team or honorable mention while Drew Schrader was also honored as the league’s Most Valuable Player.

Schrader was not only a team leader of the Bullpups as they went unbeaten in league play and qualified for the state playoffs, he also scored 23 goals on the season while also being named first team all-league for his play as a defender to go with his MVP honors.

Four other Bullpups joined Schrader on the first team including midfielders Britton Haigh and Tyler Hoxie, and defenders Trenton Stecklein and Cody Achilles.

Earning second-team all-league honors for the Bullpups were defender Caden Hardgrave, forwards Jael Jaime and Samy Jaime as well as goalkeeper Nathan Lloyd.

Bullpup midfielder Rhett Edmonson and defender Logan Ediger were given honorable mention honors.

The league Coach of the Year award went to Augusta’s Dusty Buell.


Midfielders: Britton Haigh and Tyler Hoxie of McPherson, Anthony Orocio of Augusta, and Drake Dick of Buhler.

Defenders: Trenton Stecklein and Cody Achilles of McPherson, Damrin Engelken of Buhler and Wyatt Pankratz of Augusta.

Forwards: Drew Schrader of McPherson, Payton Ball of Augusta, Caden Dinkel of Rose Hill and Tyler Westfall of Buhler.

Goalkeeper: Tyrstan Spiess of Rose Hill.


Midfielders: Cooper Taylor and Nick Willm of Buhler, Zach Hammer of Winfield and Drew Leck of Rose Hill.

Defenders: Caden Hardgrave of McPherson, Ethan Anderson of Rose Hill, Just Nguyen of Winfield and Carter Engelken of Buhler.

Forwards: Josh Miller of Mulvane, Jael Jaime and Samy Jaime of McPherson, and Caleb Taylor of Buhler.

Goalkeeper: Nathan Lloyd of McPherson.


Midfielders: Rhett Edmonson of McPherson, Cordell Church of Mulvane, Luke Winters of Buhler, Ritik Pal of Circle and Dominick Rios of Augusta.

Defenders: Logan Ediger of McPherson, Nathan Joseph of Augusta, Teagan Cobb, Andruw Weeks and Ethan Tucker of Rose Hill, Kyan Towles of Winfield, Ethan Stanbaugh of Buhler and Hayden Cannon of Circle.

Forwards: Bradon Anderson of Augusta, Timmy Hoopes and Zach Hoang of Rose Hill, and Ty Biby of Winfield.

Goalkeepers: Ryan Hus of El Dorado, Jesse Velotta of Mulvane, and Jax Fredrick of Buhler.

(Check us out at

(These postings need individual/business SPONSORS, as little as $10/week – contact Will at