GRADUATED DRIVER’S LICENSES!!
Traffic Stop Tuesday Postings are presented by the McPherson Police Department
This Tuesday they are talking about ‘UNAUTHORIZED MINORS’.
In this week’s TRAFFIC STOP TUESDAY, we will discuss UNAUTHORIZED MINORS/KANSAS GRADUATED DRIVER’S LICENSES!
Almost every teenager looks forward to driving!!
However, Kansas is a GRADUATED DRIVER’S LICENSE state and there are a few requirements these new drivers must meet before they can drive on their own.
Parents need to be aware of these requirements, since allowing a teenager to drive in violation of their restrictions is also a traffic infraction against the parent!
Standard Traffic Ordinance 197 on UNAUTHORIZED MINORS, states no person shall cause or knowingly permit his or her child or ward under the age of 18 years to drive a motor vehicle upon any highway when such minor person is not authorized under the laws of Kansas to drive a vehicle.
Under the GRADUATED DRIVER’S LICENSE (GDL) program it is essential for new drivers to meet certain requirements before obtaining a non-restricted driver’s license.
Many of these requirements are age related for example:
- At 14 years old you are eligible for an instruction or learner’s permit.
- At 15 years old you are eligible for a restricted or provisional license.
- Once you turn 16 years old, your license is eligible to be less restricted.
- Finally – at the age of 17 years old, your license is eligible for no restrictions.
For more information regarding the full requirements on driving privileges please follow this link: htttps://www.ksrevenue.org/dovgdl.html.
(TRAFFIC STOP TUESDAY is SPONSORED by CrossDove Writers)