By William

MCPHERSON – On Monday morning the McPherson County Health Department made the following recommendations:

The McPherson County Health Department (MCHD) recognizes and is proud of McPherson County for continuing to practice critical safety measures to prevent and slow the spread of COVID-19 in our communities.

After considering McPherson County’s population vaccinated rate, current trends with COVID-19/Coronavirus infection locally, statewide and nationally, and consulting with local healthcare partners, MCHD will recommend we move to a modified reopening plan that includes:

  • Continued MASK USAGE when all surrounding individuals have not been fully vaccinated for at least two (2) weeks, especially in settings where 6-foot distancing is not maintained or there is poor ventilation.
  • Frequent hand hygiene practices and staying home when sick.

The McPherson County Health Department recommends that McPherson County practice the above recommendations beginning April 5, 2021 – this will be reviewed again on April 19, 2021.

McPherson County is vaccinating anyone 16-years old and above for COVID-19/Coronavirus.

You may call the McPherson County Health Department at 620-241-1753, your healthcare provider, or pharmacy for an appointment.

You may also search for locations using (16- and 17-year old individuals may only receive the Pfizer vaccine at this time.)

AS OF APRIL 4, 2021, according to the Kansas Immunization Registry, KSWebIZ, 11,469 residents of McPherson County have received at least one dose of a COVID-19/Coronavirus vaccine.

The majority of these residents have received the Moderna vaccine (7,910) followed by the Pfizer vaccine (3,230) and the Johnson & Johnson/Janssen vaccine (329).


The Kansas Department of Health & Environment (KDHE) and the McPherson County Health Department continue to mandate a 10-DAY QUARANTINE FOR KANSANS if you have done any of the following:

  • Traveled on or after March 26 to the states of Delaware, Michingan, or Rhode Island.
  • Traveled on or after March 26 to the countries of Hungary, or Jordan.
  • Traveled on or after March 12 to states of New Jersey or New York.
  • Traveled on or after March 12 to the countries of State of Palestine or Estonia.
  • Traveled on or after February 26 to the countries of Czechia, San Marino, or Montenegro.
  • Attended/traveled to a mass gathering event out-of-state of 500 people or greater where individuals did not keep 6-foot distancing and wear masks.
  • Traveled on a cruise ship or river cruise.

{McPherson County News & Notes is SPONSORED by CrossDove Creations}