By William

MCPHERSON – The McPherson County Health Department (MCHD) and Director Shalei Shea have released a set of new updates regarding information for quarantine, vaccine and travel information.

This includes information regarding the Colorado quarantine and the availability of the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine for those 12-17 years of age.


McPherson County is vaccinating anyone 16 years old and above for COVID-19 and expect implementation of vaccinating those 12-15 years old with the Pfizer vaccine in the next week.

The McPherson County Health Department will be placing small orders of the Pfizer vaccine for those who want to vaccinate their children ages 12-17 years old.

Please call the MCHD to schedule an appointment during their normal 8:00 am – 5:00 pm hours.

Healthcare Providers throughout the county may also decide to order the Pfizer vaccine for those ages 12-17 years old as well.

Folks can also search for locations offering vaccinations through

As of May 10, 2021, according to the Kansas Immunization Registry, KSWebIZ, 14,955 doses of the COVID-19 vaccine have been administered to McPherson County residents.

The majority of doses administered have been:

  • The Moderna vaccine = 10,531
  • The Pfizer vaccine = 3,864
  • The Johnson and Johnson/Janssen vaccine = 560

According to the CDC COVID-19 Data Tracker (

  • 35.5% of McPherson County’s population has been fully vaccinated.
  • 45.7% of the population 18 years old and above are vaccinated.
  • 77.3% of the population 65 years old and above are vaccinated.

INFORMATION ON GATHERINGSrecommendations beginning May 6, 2021:

  • No gathering limit when all persons wear masks.
  • Practice 6-foot distancing where possible.
  • If all persons in a gathering have been fully vaccinated for at least 2 weeks, masks and distancing may not be necessary.
  • Entities and businesses may continue to be more stringent in both private and public situations at their own discretion.


Both the Kansas Department of Health & Environment (KDHE) and the MCHD continue to mandate a 10-day quarantine for Kansans when traveling.

This quarantine does not apply if you have been fully vaccinated for at least 2 weeks (but less than 6 months) and are asymptomatic.

For travels to the State of Colorado:

  • If you have traveled on or after May 6 to the following counties in Colorado: Adams, Arapahoe, Archuleta, Bent, Chaffee, Conejos, Crowley, Douglas, Elbert, El Paso, Fremont, Huerfano, Jefferson, lake, Larimer, Park, Phillips, Pueblo, Rio Blanco, San Juan, Teller, and Weld.
  • The City and County of Denver.


Further travel quarantine and/or restrictions include:

  • Traveled on or after May 6 to the countries of Cabo Verde, India, Maldives, or Seychelles.
  • Traveled on or after April 22 to the State of Minnesota or the countries of Argentina, Aruba, Bahrain, Croatia, Cyprus, France, Sweden, or Turkey.
  • Traveled on or after April 8 to the State of Pennsylvania or the county of Uruguay.
  • Traveled on or after March 26 to the States of Delaware, Michigan, or Rhode Island.
  • Traveled on or after March 12 to the county of State of Palestine.
  • Traveled between April 22 – May 6 to the countries of Aruba or France.
  • Traveled between April 8 – May 6 to the countries of Andorra, Bermuda, Curacao, Poland, or Serbia.
  • Traveled between March 26 – May 6 to the country of Hungary.
  • Traveled between March 12 – May 6 to the States of New Jersey or New York.
  • Attended/Traveled to a mass gathering event out-of-state of which 500 people or greater where individuals did not keep 6-foot distancing and wear masks.
  • Traveled on a cruise ship or a river cruise.

{This McPherson County COVID-19 Update is SPONSORED by CrossDove Creations}