By Staff for

            BUHLER – It was another successful day for the McPherson High girls tennis program on Thursday as the junior varsity traveled to Buhler and won the six-team Buhler Junior Varsity Tennis Tournament.

            Scoring 19 points by taking three first-place trophy’s was enough for the Lady Bullpup JV to bring home the team championship trophy as well, finishing four points ahead of second place Wamego. Other teams at the tournament besides host Buhler were Hutchinson, El Dorado and Wichita Classical.

            “This afternoon was another nice day for some tennis,” noted junior varsity coach Ricardo Sanchez. “The format of the tournament was similar to our own junior varsity tournament from Tuesday with pool play and a crossover match for placing. The team was able to take care of business, and everyone came home with a win.”

            Speaking of individual play, McPherson scored first-place wins in both number one and number two singles as both Kennedy Tully and Jordan Martens went 3-0 for the day.

            In the doubles competition, the tandem of Avery Eveland and Erin Olson prevailed at number one doubles, going 3-0 and getting the first-place trophy while the number two doubles duo of Ady Crocker and Abilene Frye had a bit of a rough day, finishing 1-2 and placing fifth.

            Coach Sanchez concluded his reflections on the Buhler experience by adding, “We were able to work on playing high percentage tennis and stay in rallies in order to outlast our opponents. We will continue a busy schedule and if our players can build off of their consistency, they will continue to see more success.”

            Next up for the Lady Bullpup junior varsity tennis team will be a road trip to Salina on Tuesday, September 13 for the six-team Salina Central Tournament.


TEAM STANDINGS: 1. LADY BULLPUPS – 19; 2. Wamego – 15; 3. Hutchinson – 12; 4. El Dorado – 10; 5. Buhler – 8; 6.Wichita Classical – 0.



#1 = Kennedy Tully went 3-0 took 1st.

#2 = Jordan Martens went 3-0 took 1st.


#1 = Avery Eveland/Erin Olson went 3-0 took 1st.

#2 = Ady Crocker/Abilene Frye finished 1-2 took 5th.

(The Staff covering McPherson County Activities can be reached by email at