By Staff

            LITTLE RIVER – On Friday, Madison came to Little River and found Braxton Lafferty unstoppable while the Redskins recorded a 60-14 victory and an 8-Man Division I Regional Championship.

            Ranked number two in 8-Man Division I, Little River is now 9-1 for the season as they ready to go on the road next Friday for a quarterfinal matchup with Chase County in Cottonwood Falls. Chase County who is also 9-1 and ranked seventh in 8-Man Division I will be coming off a 56-38 upset win over number three ranked and previously unbeaten South Sumner on Friday.

            Little River scored twice in the first quarter on a 14-yard run by Braxton Lafferty and an 11-yard run from Grant Stephens before Madison found the end zone on a 34-yard run. Lafferty then dashed in for another score from seven yards out giving the Redskins a 22-6 lead after the first twelve minutes of play.

            Lafferty added a pair of scores in the second quarter with one coming on a 49-yard sprint to the end zone and the second on a four-yard power drive to paydirt. While Madison did get another score in the quarter, Little River held a convincing 38-14 advantage heading into the halftime break.

            After another Lafferty short run for a score early in the third quarter, Rylan Konen connected with Andrew Smith for a 28-yard pass and catch for touchdown, giving Little River a 54-14 lead heading into the fourth quarter.

            Shortly after the final quarter began, Lafferty ran in for his sixth score of the game to give Little River their final 60-14 win.

            Offensively the Redskins needed just 32 plays to gain 355 yards with 313 of those coming on the ground as Lafferty ran for 201 yards on 15 carries. Grant Stephens picked up 43 yards and Rylan Konen only attempted four passes, completed two for 36 yards.

            The Redskin defense gave up 166 yards to Madison, but it took them 54 plays to do so.

            Grant Stephens was a terror on defense for Little River, leading the team with 12 tackles, nine of which were solo stops and included five quarterback sacks and seven tackles that produced a loss of yardage. Braden Young and Toby Jesseph chipped in with seven stops each.                


SCORING: Madison 6-8-0-0=14; LITTLE RIVER 22-16-16-6=60

1st Quarter:

LITTLE RIVER – Braxton Lafferty on a 14-yard run (2-Point Conversion – Braxton Lafferty Run) 0-8

LITTLE RIVER – Grant Stephens on an 11-yard run (2-Point Conversion Failed) 0-14

Madison – Scored on a 34-yard run (2-Point Conversion Failed) 6-14

LITTLE RIVER – Braxton Lafferty on a 7-yard run (2-Point Conversion – Braxton Lafferty Run) 6-22

2nd Quarter:

LITTLE RIVER – Braxton Lafferty on a 49-yard run (2-Point Conversion – Braden Young Run) 6-30

Madison – Scored on a 47-yard run (2-Point Conversion was Good) 14-30

LITTLE RIVER – Braxton Lafferty on a 4-yard run (2-Point Conversion – Braden Young Run) 14-38

3rd Quarter:

LITTLE RIVER – Braxton Lafferty on a 2-yard run (2-Point Conversion – Braxton Lafferty Run) 14-46

LITTLE RIVER – Andrew Smith on a 28-yard pass play from Rylan Konen (2-Point Conversion – Braxton Lafferty Run) 14-54

4th Quarter:

LITTLE RIVER – Braxton Lafferty on an 18-yard run (Kick Failed) 14-60


Madison: 1st Downs – 10; Total Offense – 54 for 166; Passing – 4/7 for 46; Rushing – 45 for 120; Fumbles – 2/2; Penalties – 3/26.

LITTLE RIVER: 1st Downs – 15; Total Offense – 32 for 355; Passing – 3/5 for 42, 2 score; Rushing – 26 for 313; Fumbles – 0/0; Penalties – 1/3.


Passing: Rylan Konen – 2/4 for 36, 1 score; Braxton Lafferty – 1/1 for 6.

Rushing: Braxton Lafferty – 15 for 201, 6 scores; Grant Stephens – 5 for 43, 1 score; Rylan Konen – 4 for 35; Braden Young – 2 for 34.

Receiving: Andrew Smith – 1 for 28, 1 score; Braden Young – 1 for 8; Grant Stephens – 1 for 6.

Defense: Grant Stephens – 12, 9 solo, 5 sacks, 7 for loss; Braden Young – 7, 5 solo, 1 for loss; Toby Jesseph – 7, 2 solo, 1 for loss; Braxton Lafferty – 5, 1 solo, 1 for loss; Rylan Konen – 3, 2 solo; Andrew Smith – 2; Carter Stansbury – 2; Kayston Cox – 2; Kyler Bergkamp – 1.

(The Staff covering McPherson County Activities can be reached by email at